The annual conference ‘Languages for Specific Purposes in Higher Education’, or LSPHE, started in 2015 as a joint effort between the University of Manchester and Cambridge University to bring together LSP practitioners from around the UK and beyond.

The conference has taken place at the following institutions: The University of Manchester (2015), University of Cambridge (2016), University of Oxford (2017), University of Leeds (2018), Imperial College London (2019), The Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy, 2021, The University of York (2022).

The organising committee is composed of two permanent members, as well as members of each year’s host institution. The permanent committee members are:

David Tual, Director of the Centre for Languages and Inter-Communication (CLIC), Cambridge University Department of Engineering.

Benoît Guilbaud, Senior Lecturer in French, Department Languages Studies, University of Sussex.

LSPHE currently serves as a Special Interest Group for the Association of University Language Centres in the UK and Ireland.

Since 2015, the Languages for Specific Purposes in Higher Education conference has been made possible thanks to the support of the following institutions and organisations:


daadLeeds Centre for Excellence in language teaching.jpg

tab_col_white_background Pearson English LogoICL logo wide small

Website maintained by Benoît Guilbaud.